Start of main content


Conference chairs

Academic Chair
Xiao-ping Zhang

Chair in Electrical Power Systems, University of Birmingham

Industry Chair
Inès Tunga

Renewables Practice Manager, Energy Systems Catapult

Tutorial Chair
Shurooque Baloch

Operability Product Manager
National Grid ESO

Organising committee

Alex Pettener

Design Manager, Siemens Energy

Bless Kuri

Head of System Planning & Investment, SSEN

Damian Flynn

Associate Professor in the School of Electrical and Electronic Engineering, University College Dublin

Sean Jones

Associate, Hoare Lea

Frede Blaabjerg

Professor in Electric Power Systems and Microgrids, Aalborg University

Lie Xu

Professor in the Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering, University of Strathclyde

Yiango Mavrocostanti

Innovation Manager, National Grid

Saeed Peyghami

Associate Professor, Aalborg University 

David Infield

Research Professor, University of Strathclyde 

Zhongdong Wang

Professor in Energy System Infrastructure, The University of Manchester

Technical programme committee

Ana Soares, Researcher / Invited Assistant Professor, INESC Coimbra / DEEC - University of Coimbra Lakshmi Simhan, Professor, Georgia Southern University
Anthony Chadee, Executive Operations Manager, WASA Mahdi Pourakbari Kasmaei, Assistant Professor, Aalto University
Benoit Baudry, HVDC Delivery Manager, NEOM Mahmoud Shahbazi, Associate Professor in Electrical Engineering, Durham University
Christopher Donaghy-Spargo, Principal Engineer, JDR Cables Matthew Deakin, Royal Academy of Engineering Research Fellow, Newcastle University
Deepa Shaji Kumar, Research and Development Engineer, Power Networks Demonstration Centre, University of Strathclyde Mohamed Edrah, Power System Engineer, NGESO
Devaraj D, Professor, Kalasalingam Academy of Research and Education Nur Sarma, Assistant Professor, Durham University
Dey-Ola Pikarb, Head, Power & Electrical System Services, NCMD Pablo Arboleya, Full Professor, University of Oviedo
Dr Berclin Solomon, Senior Consultant in Energy Business Advisory, Siemens plc Raja Mohamed Sumsudeen, Assistant Professor, University of Bahrain
Eldar Naghiyev, Energy Business Advisory Consultant, Siemens Ramesh Hitinayake, Electrical Engineer, Sri Lanka Army
Grain Adam, Lead Engineer and HVDC Technology Manager, NEOM Energy and Water (ENOWA) Reuban Samikkannu, Senior Engineer, Eirgrid
Guangchen Liu, Professor, Inner Mongolia University of Technology Rui Li, Professor, Harbin Institute of Technology
Hakan Ergun, Research Expert, KU Leuven / EnergyVille Sami Abdelrahman, Power System Engineer, National Grid ESO
Himanshu Negi, Senior Electrical Engineer, Arcadis Sasa Djokic, University Lecturer, The University of Edinburgh
Hongjian Sun, Professor, Durham University Shahab Shariat Torbaghan, Assistant professor, Wageningen University and Research (WUR)
Ilka Jahn, Junior Principal Investigator, RWTH Aachen University Tagore Ramlal, Assistant Professor, The University of Trinidad and Tobago
Jan Desmet, senior full professor, Ghent University Urban Rudez, Associate professor, University of Ljubljana
Jananthan Ratnasabapathy, Senior manager, Institution of Green Engineers Vinothkumar K, Principal R&D Engineer, Hitachi Energy Technologies Private Limited
Jef Poortmans, Director Energy, imec & EnergyVille Xuzhu Rick Dong, Professor, Wuhan University
John Fradley, Power system capability engineer, National Grid Yanping Du, Senior Lecturer, University of Exeter
Jonathan Giff, Electrical Network Operations Manager, Scottish Power Youssef ERRAM Professor, Chouaib Doukkali University, Eljadida, Morocco